constellations

Work hard in school. Get a good job. Have a good life.

My adult life lay before me with mile markers and checkpoints along the way. But I still got lost. I am in the wilderness and the only thing I can do is rely on my own damn self. I am not a child but still: I am not done being creative, curious, playful or free.

What I have learned is this: inaction is action. Fall in love but don’t forget your own name. Work hard but tend to your soul. If you feel yourself slipping, find a way out. If you stop writing, start again. Nothing that happens to you is 100% about you. You cannot escape your past by ignoring it. Writing is the constellations that at first you cannot see. I am grateful for this moment in the dark. I will remember this.

Leave a Reply

